Age-friendly Living

Of all the rooms in a home, the bathroom is the most vital room for ensuring we can continue to live at home as we grow older. It is central to our own personal health and hygiene, and plays an important role in care provision.

The political goal of prioritising outpatient care over inpatient nursing can only succeed if private households are made better able to cope with changing personal health needs. A key factor in this context is the upgrading of bathrooms and sanitary facilities to places that we can safely use when we grow older, and in which, when we need assistance, family members and professional carers can come in and help us.

The age-friendly design of living environments naturally also concerns other rooms in the home such as the living room, bedroom, kitchen and entrance, as well as corridors, stairs, ramps, balconies and terraces. Preventative measures can help make living at home more comfortable for all age groups. Design that addresses the needs of all generations removes barriers and makes homes more pleasant and usable environments for people with different abilities – whether frail and infirm, disabled, children, or outside carers. It helps minimise accidents and falls in the home, improves home security and not least raises the value of property.

The age-friendly conversion of home environments enables people to live independently in their familiar surroundings for longer, making a lasting contribution to quality of life in old age.

But age-friendly design is more than just about added safety, better orientation, health and hygiene. Wellness and good design also make living environments more pleasurable, and help us be more autonomous. Well-designed age-friendly living environments are just as much about comfort, well-being and aesthetics. Age-friendly living environments have the potential to meet the needs of society at all levels.

Living areas:
Age-friendly living must be considered in the design of:

  • Entrance doors
  • Corridors
  • Stairs, ramps and lifts
  • Bathrooms
  • Living areas and bedrooms
  • Kitchens
  • Balconies/terraces

 

 

Age-friendly living encompasses the following aspects:

  • Preventive measures
  • Usability for all age groups
  • Multi-generational living constellations
  • Improved comfort and standard of living
  • Reduction in falls and accidents in the home
  • Ability to live longer in familiar surroundings
  • Continued personal autonomy and individual living surroundings at home
  • Better quality of life into old age
  • Easier access and better facilities for carers
  • Better access for disabled or mobility-impaired persons as well 
  • as for families with children
  • Burglary protection
  • Improvement of property value

Age-friendly living is about:

  • Comfort
  • Aesthetics
  • Design
  • Safety
  • Orientation
  • Hygiene
  • Personal autonomy
  • Happiness
  • Communication/interaction
  • Energy efficiency
  • Health
  • Quality of life

Altersgerechtes Wohnen

Der wichtigste Ort für ein selbstbestimmtes Leben in den eigenen vier Wänden – bis in das hohe Alter hinein - ist und bleibt das Bad. Es ist der zentrale Ort für Körperhygiene und auch für die Pflege.

Der gesundheitspolitische Grundsatz ‚ambulant vor stationär‘ kann nur realisiert werden, wenn die private Räumlichkeit zum Gesundheitsstandort umstrukturiert wird. Zentraler Erfolgsfaktor ist insbesondere die Weiterentwicklung des Sanitärbereichs zu einer Betreuungs- und Pflegeumgebung für ältere, unterstützungs- und pflegebedürftige Menschen sowie familiär und professionell Pflegende.

Selbstverständlich bezieht altersadäquates Wohnen auch alle anderen Räumlichkeiten wie Wohn- und Schlafraum, Küche, Flur, Treppen, Rampen, Aufzüge, Balkon und Terrasse mit ein. Präventive Maßnahmen erhöhen den Wohnkomfort sämtlicher Altersgruppen, integrieren generationsübergreifendes Wohnen, führen durch Barriereabbau zu einem langen Verbleib in der gewohnten Umgebung und erleichtern in der Mobilität eingeschränkten Menschen, Behinderten, Familien mit Kindern wie Pflegepersonal das tägliche Leben. Sturz- und Unfallgefahren werden gemindert, zusätzlicher Einbruchschutz geboten ebenso wie eine Wertsteigerung der Immobilie.

Aus dem altersadäquaten Umbau von Wohnraum resultieren ein langer Verbleib im eigenen Zuhause sowie ein selbstbestimmtes und individuelles Dasein, was eine gesteigerte Lebensqualität bis ins hohe Alter ermöglicht.

Hierbei geht es aber nicht nur um die Aspekte Sicherheit, Orientierung, Gesundheit und Hygiene. Auch durch den Einsatz von Wellness und Design können Lebensfreude und Autonomie gezielt erhöht werden. Effizient umgesetztes altersgerechtes Wohnen bedeutet ebenso Emotionalität, Komfort und Ästhetik. Den gesellschaftlichen Anforderungen wird auf diese Weise in vollem Umfang Rechnung getragen.

Wohnbereiche:
Das altersgerechte Wohnen bezieht sich auf: 

  • Eingangstüren
  • Flure
  • Treppen/Rampen/Aufzüge
  • Badezimmer
  • Wohn- und Schlafraum
  • Küche
  • Balkon/Terrasse

Folgende Aspekte des altersgerechten Wohnens sollten berücksichtigt werden:

  • Präventive Maßnahmen
  • für jede Altersgruppe
  • Generationsübergreifendes Wohnen
  • Wohnkomfort wird erhöht
  • Senkung Sturz- und Unfallgefahr
  • langer Verbleib in der gewohnten Umgebung
  • Daheim selbstbestimmter und individueller leben
  • Verbesserung der Lebensqualität bis ins hohe Alter
  • Erleichterungen für pflegende Personen
  • Erleichterungen für behinderte oder in ihrer Mobilität
  • eingeschränkte Menschen sowie für Familien mit Kindern
  • Einbruchschutz
  • Steigerung des Immobilienwerts

Altersgerechtes Wohnen bedeutet:

  • Komfort
  • Ästhetik
  • Design
  • Sicherheit
  • Orientierung
  • Hygiene
  • Selbstbestimmtheit
  • Freude
  • Unterhaltung/Kommunikation
  • Energieeffizienz 
  • Gesundheit
  • Lebensqualität