Background
Sinking birth rates, longer life expectancy and decreasing mortality rates are factors that have brought about significant demographic change – in Germany and many other European countries, but also around the world.

As the population grows older, the demand for housing that is able to respond to the needs of old age will increase steadily. At present, however, society has shown little inclination to take steps towards improving the situation in their own living environments and proactively implementing home improvement measures.

One possible explanation is the negative stigmatisation of old age in modern society. In many modern societies, cultural production strongly emphasises youthful vitality, and growing old therefore has mostly negative connotations.

If we are to adequately meet the needs of an increasingly older society before it is too late, we need to bring about a change in its image. The intention is to foster a forward-looking and needs-oriented consciousness in society – to motivate people to think again and make provisions for later life, today rather than tomorrow.

Themenaufriss
Geburtenentwicklung, höhere Lebenserwartung und sinkende Sterblichkeit sind Faktoren eines tiefgreifenden demografischen Wandels – vor allem in Deutschland und anderen europäischen Ländern. Aber auch international verändert sich die Altersstruktur.

Die Folge: Die Bevölkerung altert; daraus erwächst ein permanent höherer Bedarf an altersorientier tem Wohnraum. Im Widerspruch hierzu ist aber in der heutigen Gesellschaft wenig Bereitschaft vorhanden, Vorsorge für das individuelle Wohnumfeld zu tragen und präventiv in den altersgerechten Umbau zu investieren.

Gründe hierfür können sein: die gesellschaftliche Stigmatisierung des Themas, ein in vielen Kulturen weit verbreiteter Jugendkult und damit einhergehend ein Anti-Aging-Bewusstsein der Betroffenen.

Um die Wohnanforderungen einer älter werdenden Gesellschaft rechtzeitig und ausreichend zu erfüllen, ist ein Imagewandel zwingend erforderlich. Es gilt, durch Aufklärung ein zukunfts- und bedürfnisorientiertes Bewusstsein in der Gesellschaft zu schaffen. Menschen sollen zum Umdenken motiviert werden; sie sollen schon heute Initiative für die Altersvorsorge von morgen ergreifen.